A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Some more FOs, and a reading spree May 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:04 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sorry for the radio silence- this job hunt has taken some interesting turns and I’ve been sort of caught up in it. Michael’s offered me the job, but I ended up not accepting because they hadn’t been honest with me about how many hours I’d get- plus I realized that it would be smarter for me to just go back to working a full time desk job to pay off my student loans, and THEN think about school.

Anyway, I’ve been busy aside from the job hunt, with knitting and reading. Also my family’s third craft retreat was last weekend, so that was lovely.

First, here’s the full finished pair of Violin Socks.

The picture of the violin cables down the front is in the previous entry, below. These were knit on size US 1.5 needles with Malabrigo Sock.

Second, here’s my niece’s birthday present (if you know my niece and see this, please take care she doesn’t see! I do want it to be a surprise for her birthday). It’s Sprite in size 3-4T, knit on size 3 and 6 needles, in Knitpicks Cotlin and Comfy (in Lantana and Honeydew, respectively).

My last recent FO is my favorite by far. Celaeno, in Yarn Pig (colorway Midnight Sky, and this isn’t a commercially available yarn- I got it in a swap with the dyer) on size US 5 needles.

I NEED to get better photos. The yarn isn’t straight black, it has a lot of dark blue in it, and the beads are a gorgeous silver-lined turquoise. I adore this thing.

In reading news, I’m back into fiction! I don’t know what sparked it, but the day I finished a pretty awful true-crime thing called Needle Work, I got the urge to start reading The Book of Lost Things. A few hours later, I’d finished it and had a new favorite book. It’s amazing. The next day, I read The Graveyard Book (also really really good) and started World War Z. Today I read Thunderstruck, which I didn’t really care for, and tomorrow I’m going back to the library to get more! I’m so happy that I’m finally back into reading fiction that I’ve been neglecting my poor knitting, a bit. Ah well, I’m sure I’ll balance the two eventually.

 

Leave a comment