A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

April at last April 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 12:42 am
Tags: , , , , ,

That means Spring is well and truly on the way. It also means I can stop waiting for the next Nerd Wars challenges and freakin’ cast ON, already.

Things of note this week:

  • I went out to 3 Kittens Needle Arts with my sister to use the gift card she and her husband gave me for my birthday. I got these:

Madelinetosh Tosh Sock in Magenta (apparently because that’s what color the water turns when you dye yarn purple) and

two skeins of Lush angora/merino in a gorgeous dark forest green.  (before anyone says it, yes, I know it sheds. It’s angora. DUH, it sheds.)

  • My video podcast was mentioned on several other video podcasts, and has gotten over 100 views on all three episodes now.
  • The CPAAG Action Auction for Japan started today (well, besides the flash auctions that went on over the week- this was the real, all day long start of the auction, which goes until Sunday at 10:30 EDT) and my offering, a custom shawl in any color and pattern, sold for $175! I had the winner donate the money to Doctors Without Borders, and she’s going to get back to me later this weekend or next week about her choice of pattern and yarn.
  • The Nerd Wars challenges were indeed posted and are FRIGGIN’ HARD. I’m not sure what I’ll do for most of them, but at least a couple will be pretty easy- one is to do something to help Japan (yeah, got that in the bag, see above) and one is to make something relating to pi, which is convenient because I just started a pair of Froot Loop socks. No photos yet- I’m tired and need to go to bed- but I’ll post some later this week. At the rate these socks are going, I’ll probably even show a finished sock later this week!

 

 

One Response to “April at last”

  1. Mom Says:

    Nice choosing on those yarns. I especially love the purple one! (big surprise)
    I wish I could do something as significant for the people of Japan as you did. That auction was such an excellent idea. Kudos to the organizers.
    Woohoo for the success of the podcast! Looking forward to the next one, especially if you really do have a finished sock to show us.


Leave a Reply

