A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Stashbloom February 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 10:39 pm
Tags: , ,

Nothing else around here is blooming yet (we’ve gotten another foot and a half of snow in the last week. What a leadup to my birthday) but my stash has certainly seen some growth recently! I’ve been updating my ravelry stash page this week, plus I took a trip over to The Yarnery to donate a pair of mittens and fell madly in love with some yarn and had to have it. Here’s a collage:

Top row: Knitpicks Palette in Black, 6 balls; Lion Brand Hometown USA in Savannah Sage, 11 balls (I really loathe this stuff, but it’s for a blanket for my grandma who needs something easy to wash)

2nd to top: Knitpicks Aloft in Pennyroyal (their new yarn, it’s like Kidsilk Haze but half the cost), three balls; Madelinetosh Lace in Tart, 1 skein

3rd to top: Fleece Artist in a pale purple, 1 skein; Knitpicks Shadow Tonal in Deep Waters, 3 skeins

Bottom row: 4oz Shetland in Ruby (I call it Plumberry, it is NOT ruby); 4 oz merino/silk in Black Pearl (I call it Silvered Lilacs, it is neither black nor pearl); both from Picperfic on Etsy

The only one of these that has a project set in stone is the Hometown USA. I’m going to make the Autumn Leaves Afghan for, as I said above, my grandmother.  I’m pretty sure the black Palette will be a Shipwreck Shawl, but I might end up using some Shadow for that and using the black for something else.  I have so, so, so many shawls and shawlettes I want to make, and I want to start them all NOW!! But I can’t, because a. I want to get credit for these things in HPKCHC or Nerd Wars, and b. I’m supposed to be working on the *&^^$$@# Alice mittens and some boring socks for my husband.

(the *&^^$$@# Alice mittens, by the by, look like this currently.

Let it not be said that I’m ignoring them. I just am dead sick of them, that’s all.)

I may cast on a shawl on March 1, anyway, as a birthday present to myself, and just work on the mitten as my videocast watching project. I mind it less when I have knitting videocasts to watch, but there is usually only one episode every other day or so. There are many more videocasts about knitting than there were a month ago, but there aren’t hundreds or anything. I added a list on the sidebar there —-> if any of you want to watch some.

Speaking of which, Liz from Needle Bound is having a project bag giveaway, so if you like awesome sewn project bags, go watch and leave a comment to enter!

 

Leave a Reply

