A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Then again, maybe not February 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 11:39 pm
Tags: ,

I’m still not entirely sure why I changed my mind and continued working on the Alice mittens, but I did. I discovered in the process that a. I do have enough yarn, it’s just a strange skein shape and felt very flat, but weighing it convinced me that there’s plenty, and b. it fits- well, it’s big, but only a little bit, and with the lining that’s a good thing. I spent all of yesterday and today on this project and I’m past the thumb gusset on the lining.

 

I do plan on taking a break once this one mitten is done. I have to have the other one finished by end of March, but it’s barely mid-February yet, so I have time. Besides, I want to work on these.

I’m calling these my double scoop socks, because the colors are spot on for neapolitan ice cream. It’s Felici self-striping in sport weight from Knitpicks, so they should work up quickly. I’m just doing simple stockinette toe-ups. I might do a picot bind-off, because the eye-searing strawberry pink isn’t girly enough for me apparently. Go big or go home, right?

 

One Response to “Then again, maybe not”

  1. Mom Says:

    Those Alice mittens are going to be stunners! I’m glad you didn’t give up on them. As for those socks, they are a departure from your usual, but it looks like they will be super cute.


Leave a Reply

