A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Mixed Emotions February 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 7:13 pm
Tags: , , ,

The bad:

I’m going to have to frog my Alice in Wonderland mittens. Not only am I hopelessly behind on the OWL deadline system (50% complete by end of Feb, done by end of March, I only have 3 inches of the first outer mitten done) but I’m fairly sure I’m going to run out of yarn. It’s old yarn, so I highly doubt I’d be able to find more. I might not frog yet, in case I decide to see how far my yarn will go, but I’m dropping the whole thing as an OWL.

I feel bad about it, but I just didn’t give this project enough attention in the 1.5 months since I proposed my OWL. They’re beautiful, but they take constant attention with no distractions, a lot of fiddling, and with the lining are just a huge, huge amount of tiny little stitches. And frankly, I would rather knit some neapolitan ice cream colored socks right now. Both projects are for me, so I’m choosing to knit what I want to knit.

The good:

I finished my Traveling Woman shawl (aka Alien Sky, aka Space Traveling Woman) and it’s gorgeous. I really adore it. I still have to decide who it’s for, but it’s sure pretty to look at.

I used most of a skein of Dream in Color Starry, unknown colorway (but I think it’s Midnight Derby), and a few dozen AB-coated glass beads in size 6/0. The sparkle of the silver (it’s real silver, apparently) is very difficult to photograph… these pictures don’t give you a clear idea of how sparkly the shawl is. It really feels like a sky full of stars, and somehow manages to be extremely shiny without being tacky or “blinged-out” at all.

I feel like I should make a “the ugly” joke here, but I have nothing ugly to show you, so I won’t.

 

One Response to “Mixed Emotions”

  1. kala Says:

    Oooh, your shawl is so pretty!


Leave a Reply

