A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Three News and a Blue February 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 10:04 pm
Tags: , , , ,

A lot has happened in the past few days! So much that my knitting has kind of stalled, a bit. I’m making steady progress, it’s just much slower than normal.

First, on Friday, Cory tried to go and take a shower. “Tried” is the operative word, here, because there was no hot water. He went downstairs to check the water heater and it was leaking all over the laundry room floor. The maintenance man came within an hour, but basically said “we’ll call someone to come out on Monday” and left again. We were stuck with cold water only all weekend, but today, as promised, a different maintenance man came and replaced the old water heater, so now we have a brand new one. It works great and I cannot wait to take a nice hot shower!

On Saturday, Cory went with his dad to look at a few cars. He ended up finding a nice little 1997 Mazda Protege for $1900, in good condition (the struts need work, but Cory’s dad can do that in the spring) and with only 132000 miles on it. It’s a cute little car, and we’re so excited to be able to go places whenever we want to again! Meet Sheila (I named her, Cory refuses to name cars, but he insists on naming computers, so I say the car gets a name!)

Also this weekend, I decided that it was close enough to my birthday to finally attempt to sell my camera and upgrade. It sold the day I posted the ad on Ravelry, so I also sold my hand cards that I’d only used once. Those sold today. This evening after a lot of research, we popped over to Best Buy and I got THIS.

It’s a Fujifilm Finepix S2700HD (yes, it shoots HD video). It was on sale! I seriously love this thing. You can manually set the aperture and shutter speed if you want to, and it has a really good flash and takes perfect color photos even in dim or yellow light. See this?

With my old camera, this would have been a blurry, grainy blob. It’s just the yellowish overhead light of my computer room, no flash, night setting. Sure, it’s dark, but so was the room! The color is spot on and the focus is perfect. Here is a photo with flash.

I’m thrilled with this camera. Seriously, just thrilled.

Also, you may note that the above photos were the “blue” mentioned in the title. I’m into the final chart of the Traveling Woman shawl. It’s a beautiful, simple, easily memorized pattern, and if it weren’t for all the excitement of the last few days, it would be long done by now. I’m hoping to finish tomorrow.

One final note- my camera needs a name. Any ideas?

 

One Response to “Three News and a Blue”

  1. Mom Says:

    Cute little car! And impressive camera!


Leave a Reply

