A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

tssssssssssssssssssssssss February 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 12:47 am
Tags: , , , , ,

This morning, after I had my breakfast, I decided to sit down and crank out the creeper toy my husband has been asking me to make him for months.  For those who do not play Minecraft, creepers look like this.

They’re terrifying because they don’t make any noise, so you can’t hear if they’re nearby; they don’t burn in daylight like some of the other enemies in the game, so they can sneak up on you anywhere; and if they get close enough to you, they hiss loudly and then explode. One exploding creeper can kill you if you aren’t careful, so they’re an annoying and frightening enemy. However, they can also be pretty hilarious, so Cory wanted one. He picked out the yarn a while ago, so all I had to do was come up with a pattern and whip one up.

12 hours and several attempts later, I finally finished a creeper I’m happy with.

Minicreeper is about 4 or 5 inches tall, and I crocheted it using a size E hook.

I think it came out rather well. It now lives on one of Cory’s speakers, and he loves it, so it’s a win, I think. I also turned it in for Nerd Wars under the team spirit challenge.

Speaking of Nerd Wars, I’m about 1/3 done with my second project… my Traveling Woman shawlette, made with Dream in Color Starry. I call it my Space Traveling Woman, because it really looks like a starry night sky. I’m making this for the scientific challenge, the theme of which is Nebula. This is my inspiration image.

And here’s the shawl so far.

The color is a little off, there- it’s a bit darker than that in real life- but you can see how it’s blue and purpleish and sparkly. I have some pinky-purple AB-coated beads that will go on the lace section, as well.

 

One Response to “tssssssssssssssssssssssss”

  1. Mom Says:

    Great work on the creeper! It’s always nice when the person who asked you to make something ends up satisfied.
    I can’t wait to see what that shawl looks like completed. Should be stunning.


Leave a Reply

