A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

2 down, 9 to go February 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 11:45 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I finished my Abyssal shawlette yesterday, and pulled it off of the blocking board this morning. It came out lovely and squishy and soft, but a little bit small. If I were less bored with it, I would’ve made it a bit bigger by adding a few garter stitch rows at the time, but as it was I just wanted to be done.

There it is, plus bonus cat. It’s a bit dark- the camera wouldn’t pick it up any other way, and the other photos I took didn’t have accurate color- but here’s a closeup.

And just for posterity, here’s a photo during blocking, so you can see the whole thing.

I also wore my Aeolian to the Guthrie Theater tonight, where we saw The Winter’s Tale. It was very good, though it’s a strange play to start with.

I have to say, I like wearing shawls. I wasn’t sure if I could pull it off, but since almost all of my shirts are plain, neutral colored cotton shirts of some variety, shawls work well with my wardrobe. They add an extra layer of shoulder-warmth that is pretty nice, as well. I guess it’s good that I’m planning to make at least 9 more this year, huh?

While I’m here, why don’t I review this yarn…

Plymouth Earth Ecco Cashmere, 100% cashmere, laceweight. 354yd per 50g ball.

Rating: ●●●●●

This is the first time I’ve used this yarn. I used the color “101”, undyed natural.

Pros:

  • Extraordinarily soft. Light as a feather. Squishable and warm.
  • Comes in a variety of natural tones as well as a few dyed colors.
  • For cashmere, it’s not hugely expensive.
  • Blocks beautifully.

Cons:

  • Sure, it’s not that pricey for pure cashmere, but it’s still $30 for 354 yards of laceweight.
  • On a tip from Ravelry, I weighed my ball of yarn after winding. Like the person who left the tip, my ball was only 45 grams. That is a loss of nearly 40 yards.

On the whole, this yarn is wonderful to work with and gives a gorgeous finished product. Unfortunately, it’s still prohibitively expensive and you don’t always even get all of the yardage you paid for. I would love to work with this yarn again (especially in other colors- tan’s not my favorite) but only if it was a gift. I can’t see spending that much on more for myself without using some form of gift certificate. On the other hand, it would make an amazing and decadent gift for someone you love.

 

 

2 Responses to “2 down, 9 to go”

  1. Mom Says:

    Wow! That shawl even LOOKS soft! Dismaying that the skeins are not what they claim to be. I guess it never occurred to me that they could get away with something like that.

  2. Abby Says:

    That turned out beautiful! It looks so amazingly soft! Mmmm, cashmere.

    But srsly, they shorted 5 g? Not cool.


Leave a Reply

