A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Anyone out there? July 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 3:24 pm

So, I’ve been thinking a lot about this blog, and have decided to just ask you guys straight out. You see, I’ve not been enjoying blogging all that much, and I’m pretty sure it’s mostly because there’s no real dialogue. I can post the same stuff on Ravelry and get responses, have a conversation, get opinions… but in a blog format, it’s more like standing on a soapbox and shouting, and people don’t seem to feel too keen on chiming in. I can totally understand. I don’t really comment much on blogs either, and they certainly don’t make it easy to respond to comments directly and get that kind of conversation going.

So, I’m not sure if it’s worth continuing. At least, not daily. I don’t have enough to say on a daily basis, and I’m starting to feel like I’m writing “what I did on my summer vacation” essays every day. I did this, then I did this, here is a photo, also I did this. Not exactly titillating commentary. So here’s my question to everyone reading this.

1. what makes you want to comment on a blog post?

2. do you enjoy reading daily posts even when they’re dull, or would you rather read occasional posts with real substance?

3. how dismayed would you be if I decided to drop the blog format and just post on facebook and ravelry?

4. what do you enjoy reading about? Do you only want knitting/spinning posts with lots of photos, or do you like hearing about my life events?

Speaking of which, Cory’s supposed to hear from the better job today, but I still haven’t heard anything. Oh well, as long as he has A job, I’m happy.

 

5 Responses to “Anyone out there?”

  1. Abby Says:

    1. what makes you want to comment on a blog post?
    I honestly don’t know. An adorable FO? Someone is having a bad day? Something great happened? I liked the entry? It just depends.

    2. do you enjoy reading daily posts even when they’re dull, or would you rather read occasional posts with real substance?
    I think that it would be better to blog every now and again with something of substance, after all if you don’t enjoy it, why do it?

    3. how dismayed would you be if I decided to drop the blog format and just post on facebook and ravelry?
    Quite!

    4. what do you enjoy reading about? Do you only want knitting/spinning posts with lots of photos, or do you like hearing about my life events?
    I like hearing about all of your life events, even if I don’t comment on all of them. =)

  2. berlinbetty Says:

    Pfff, I have no idea what makes me comment. Gorgeous FO’s, hilarious posts, that kind of stuff. I don’t check blogs very often because I don’t blog very often.

    I would say, if you don’t enjoy blogging daily, don’t. Because then it starts to feel like work, and that isn’t any fun. I only blog if I have something to say or share.

    Good luck to Cory!

  3. autumn Says:

    Hello! I’m reading 🙂 Generally, I do not comment on blogs ’cause I read everything in Google Reader and I rarely click through to the actual blog. I am listening, though, and it is nice to hear what’s going on with you, although I suppose I could also hear that on Facebook. When I do comment on blogs, it’s either because there is a contest or because someone says, “Is this thing on? Is anyone out there?” 😛

  4. Pat Anderson Says:

    1. what makes you want to comment on a blog post?

    Well, this made me want to comment.

    2. do you enjoy reading daily posts even when they’re dull, or would you rather read occasional posts with real substance?

    I enjoy reading your blog to keep up with what’s going on in your life. Sometimes what’s going on isn’t thrilling, but I still like to read about it.

    3. how dismayed would you be if I decided to drop the blog format and just post on facebook and ravelry?

    Facebook is nice (instant gratification), but limits your post to so few characters. I know it may seem like you’re talking to yourself when no one comments. I got that feeling about my Livejournal account. But I still post once in awhile, even though I know no one reads it, just to keep my own record of when things happen.

    4. what do you enjoy reading about? Do you only want knitting/spinning posts with lots of photos, or do you like hearing about my life events?

    I like hearing about your life, but then again, I’m related to you.

  5. Cyd Says:

    Hey, I stumbled on your blog when searching for Tour de Fleece posts, and thought, hey, I know you! 🙂

    My thought about blogs is this: there are no rules. Post when you want, about what you want, and use your blog for whatever purpose suits you best. For example, I use my blog as a crafting journal, so it only gets updated when I have something crafty to write about. Just have fun with it – there are already enough chores in life.


Leave a Reply

