A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Not as planned June 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:53 pm

I had intended to get home, make dinner, go with Janelle to “see” a couple of studio apartments she was thinking of renting, and then settling in to my knitting while watching Mythbusters.

What happened instead: I got home, felt kind of sick so I didn’t eat anything. Then I found True Stories (linked from another webcomic) and spent an hour reading those.  Janelle came over around 6 and read them with me until it was time to go see the apartments at 7:30. Like I said, I had thought we were going to go have a bit of a look around, maybe decide which one she wanted, but I didn’t think her application had been approved yet.

Nope! It had, in fact, been approved, so what we were *actually* doing was making the final choice between a studio with two huge closets, a bathtub rather than a shower stall, and a larger kitchen, and a studio with more closets that were smaller and in better locations, two walls with windows rather than one (and west-facing rather than east), but no tub. And then we went and got all the paperwork taken care of. So, Janelle officially has rented her own apartment! Rather exciting, since for the past few years she’s been living with a guy who was, when they moved in together, her boyfriend, and has since become her annoying roommate. Plus, the studio is downtown near her school, and her current place is a good 20-30 minute drive away.

She gets the keys next week and will start moving in probably that weekend or the one after. It’s nice, because her roommate is staying in their place for two more months, so she has lots of time to unearth all of her things and bring them to the new place.

Anyway. So we didn’t actually get done there until almost 9pm, by which time I was starving, so we grabbed me some food from the dollar menu at Wendy’s, and then Janelle went home since she was falling asleep on my couch and it’s almost my bedtime anyway. No knitting got done, but her having rented this place is really exciting, so it kinda makes up for it!

 

2 Responses to “Not as planned”

  1. Mom Says:

    Congratulations to Janelle! I’m so glad everything worked out so well, and I hope she will be very happy there.
    Now if yours would work out that well…

  2. Kelly Says:

    Congratulations to Janelle! It sounds like a fantastic place!

    Seems like everyone in the process of moving. Guess it’s the time of year.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

