A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

alone time May 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 10:00 pm
Tags: ,

I don’t get much of it. I’m not the type of person to really need much of it, either, especially since my husband and I are so quiet; most nights find us in separate rooms for a good part of the evening, me on my computer and him in front of the television. Tonight, though, he had some kind of school function to go to (you may remember he’s graduating in a month) and, as of his last text, he doesn’t know when he’ll be home because he’s chatting with some people about “an opportunity”. Color me intrigued.

So, I spent the majority of the evening in front of the couch, working on Owen’s sweater and watching Mythbusters. The sweater pieces don’t look much different, so I didn’t take a photo, but the front is done now! Just the sleeves, hood, i-cord trim, and seaming left.

For dinner, I made chicken rogan josh, or my version of it anyway. I don’t think I’ve ever posted the recipe for it on here, so I will do that now!

4-6 chicken thighs, boneless/skinless, diced
1 med. onion, diced
3-4 tbsp butter
1 tbsp garlic
1 tsp powdered ginger (you can use 1/2 tsp grated fresh if you have it)
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp curry powder (madras is best)
1/2 tsp coriander
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tbsp garam masala
1 can tomatoes, semi-drained (turn the can upside down for a sec but don’t, you know, squish out the extra juice with the lid)
1 can garbanzo beans (chickpeas), rinsed and drained
1/2 can (about 1/2 cup) coconut milk

Melt the butter over med. heat. Add the onions and cook until translucent, then add the garlic, ginger, chili powder, curry powder, coriander, cinnamon, and cayenne. Add the chicken and start to brown it. After it’s mostly browned (but not cooked through) add the tomatoes, bring to a very gentle simmer, lower the heat to low, cover, and simmer for 30 min.

In the meantime, make basmati rice.

At the end of the 30 min, add the beans, garam masala, and coconut milk. Heat through and serve over rice.

Note- I actually totally forgot to add the garam masala this time, so it was a little bland and pale. It’s normally a bit richer in color than that.

 

One Response to “alone time”

  1. Tes Says:

    Those pictures look so yummy. Nothing is more perfect for alone time like a good curry on top of hot rice.


Leave a Reply

