A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Cheese + biscuit = good. May 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 12:53 am
Tags: , ,

I made cheese drop biscuits this evening to go with the last of that sausage soup. They were excellent.

I got the recipe from a friend on rav, who I am sure wouldn’t mind me sharing the recipe.

2 C flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt (I used less than a full tsp coz of the celery salt I added later)

60gm butter (about 4 tbsp)
1 C grated cheese
1tsp Onion Salt/Powder etc (I used about 1/2 tsp celery salt)
1tsp Garlic Salt/Granules etc (I used garlic powder)
1tsp Paprika

1 C milk

Flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl, rub in butter (I used a pastry cutter thing)
Mix in the onion/garlic powders, paprika (adding only 1tsp each or more if you’d like), and cheese.
Mix in the milk to make a sticky dough.

Rip it in half, then in halves again, then in halves again (8), place in a greased baking tin an inch or two apart. Sprinkle a bit of grated cheese on top.

Cook for like, 10-15mins in a 220’C (425′ F) oven, I like to then grill them for a few mins to get the tops nice and brown.

Other than biscuit adventures, my day was pretty laid back (not that the biscuits really gave me trouble or anything). I spent some time knitting Owen’s sweater in front of the tv, but I only got a couple more inches done, so it wasn’t really worth taking a photo.

As a bonus, here’s how Simon was sleeping earlier.

 

Leave a Reply

