A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Weekend! May 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:44 pm
Tags: , ,

At last, hooray! After two 4-day weeks in a row, a proper 5-day workweek is kind of awful. But, it’s over now, and I have the first whole weekend in a while to relax and enjoy being at home.

I didn’t do any knitting today, but earlier when I was at my mom’s place, I got some photos of the scarf she’s making from the handspun I gave her for Mother’s Day. I’m very pleased, the yarn is doing nice thick slow striping just like I hoped it would!

The pattern is the Best Friend Scarf, and she’s making it to go with her grey down winter coat. I think it’s turning out beautifully.

Do you know, I’ve never actually knitted with my own handspun? It’s a crying shame. I really ought to do something about it, but I never have time! Perhaps I’ll spin and then knit someone’s Christmas present this year, if I end up getting the time to do it. With my sister’s baby due in November, I’m not sure how much not-for-baby knitting I’ll get done!

In case you guys are wondering- I am, in fact, still reading a lot. I just stopped listening to books on tape at work (ran out of ones I was interested in, boo) and have been semi-slogging through a very long but VERY interesting book on the history of forensic science. Cool stuff, but not exactly a read-it-in-one-sitting type of book!

 

One Response to “Weekend!”

  1. Abby Says:

    That’s gorgeous! Both the knitting and the yarn. Well done!


Leave a Reply

