A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

This will be my year January 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 2:30 pm

I must confess, blog, that I have ulterior motives for coming skittering back to you. The truth is, this has the potential to be a very, very big year for me… even bigger than the year I graduated college, got married, and got my first real job.

Some of you might remember an older post of mine, in which I bemoaned my lack of life direction, whining that I felt I’d never find my true path, or a career, or anything that really felt right to me. Well, I should have waited a few months, because it finally hit me. Honestly, it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time, but I always dismissed it because, frankly, I’m squeamish. I’m not entirely sure I want to share my plans with the world at large quite yet, because I’ll feel awfully silly (and the disappointment will be sharper) if they don’t come to fruition. But I need the support I get from you, blog, to get through this and make it happen, so here goes.

I’m going back to school for Veterinary Technology.

Sunk in yet? Yes? Ok, next part. This one’s a doozy, I hope you’re ready…

It’s in Denver. Yes, Denver, Colorado. Cory’s going to start looking for jobs out there for when he graduates in June, and I will look for part-time work once we get there. Assuming he can find a job by July 1, we’ll be moving then. I’m incredibly nervous, and super, super excited.

I’ve never lived anywhere else. In fact, I’m pretty sure every place I’ve ever lived is within 15-20 miles of where I’m currently sitting. Mine is a tiny little world. Admittedly, my dad and a few of my friends live out in Colorado, but they’ll all be at least an hour’s drive from the school.

I’m applying as soon as the packet my recruiter is sending me gets here. I don’t know what that entails, but based on their website I don’t see any reason I could be rejected. My college GPA was 3.49, and the website says if your high school GPA was lower than 2.5 then you have to take an assessment test… so, I think I’m fine. I’ll just have to get a copy of my transcript.

If anyone reading this could, I’d really appreciate thoughts/prayers/mojo to the effect that Cory will find a job out there, and soon. I’m going to feel really up-in-the-air until that happens!

 

4 Responses to “This will be my year”

  1. autumn Says:

    Super exciting! We will be pretty sad to see you go, but I’m hoping we’re invited for visits? Also, you’ll be back 😉

  2. Kala Says:

    Wow, good for you for taking such a big step toward your dreams, congrats!!!

  3. Heather Says:

    This will be perfect for you!! What a fabulous adventure. (I love moving…I hate packing, but I love moving.)

  4. Lauri Sam Says:

    coooooooool…go for it! Scary is good sometimes.


Leave a Reply

