A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

You are success! July 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 10:31 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I had an extremely productive and successful weekend.

First of all, this weekend was the Minneapolis “ZineFest”, a zine selling and trading show where my friends Autumn and Tiffany had a table. (click here if you don’t know what a zine is, or here if you want more info) In exchange for sitting with them today and keeping company/helping sell, I got to put my etsy things (crochet cupcakes, Disgruntled Pocket Critters, and cupcake pins) on their table to sell. I came into Zinefest with a $20 bill; I walked out with $25 cash and all of this.

Zines and stuffI think I made out pretty well. My favorite purchase is the book on the very bottom, titled “Make your Place; Affordable, Sustainable Nesting Skills”. It has a wealth of info on making bath and body products, home cleaning products, and even gardening.

During the fest, I worked on a sock I can’t show photos of as I’ll hopefully be publishing the design later. Yesterday, however, I completed Janelle’s hat- the one that I spun up both that possum/wool blend and the teal wool for. I won’t show a full photo yet as I don’t yet have the buttons (you’ll understand what I mean once I have them), but here is a closeup of the colorwork.

colorwork

This hat’s my own design, but in general shape it’s very similar to my Animal Cracker Hat pattern.

My favorite accomplishment this weekend- particularly since it only took me a few hours, the fastest spinning project I’ve done yet- is this yarn.

Soffffttttt4 ounces of bamboo superwash, colorway Frosted Garden, from “Dyeing for Colour” on Etsy. Spun into soft worsted weight singles. Seriously this stuff is so freaking soft.

I’m very, very proud of myself. I’ve never spun low-twist singles successfully before. Admittedly there were a couple of places spun too loosely that broke, but I spliced them back together and all is well. I didn’t count yardage but I’d say at least 200 yards.

Scale shot

 

4 Responses to “You are success!”

  1. You Know Who Says:

    Hat! Oh man I will totally wear it everywhere!

    (I know, I know, that why you didn’t want to make it… but… hat!)

  2. Abby Says:

    I’m thinking I want to do some singles soon, but I think it will be hard to get the right balance for the twist, I get nervous about not putting enough twist in.

  3. Abby Says:

    Also I meant to say that the yarn looks great, shiny and soft. =D

  4. sheepishlittleblog Says:

    I’ll admit, there were 3 or 4 places that didn’t have enough twist and broke when I went to wind the skein. I fixed them by twisting both broken ends and then splicing them together. It would be easier with a non-superwash yarn- then you could just felt the broken ends.


Leave a Reply

