A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Diaper bags and fake blood May 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 12:00 am

This has been a long, interesting, and varied day.

Cory and I  spent the early part of the day getting a birthday present for my niece, who turned 2. We got her a couple of accessory sets for her baby dolls– a snacktime set, with some fake food and dishes, and a diaper bag set, with everything you’d find in a diaper bag, including her favorite part, a cell phone. She wouldn’t put the thing down, and when she did for a moment and I put it in the bag for safekeeping, she started looking for it with her hands up on her head, going “my phone! My phone!” in a very worried voice. She sounded like me (and a lot of other people I know) when I can’t find my phone.

After going to the hardware store to buy supplies, Cory dropped me at Nicole’s place to start work on refinishing my spinning wheel, Peter. Peter is an Ashford Kiwi, named after a character of Nicole’s, a grouchy kiwi bird accountant. After disassembling and sanding the wheel, Nicole woodburned the treadle kiwi (already present) to look like Peter, and then also woodburned dancing kiwi birds around the wheel itself. So. Freakin’. Cute.

In contrast to the cute now decorating my wheel, while she worked on that (and I knit on that bathrobe) we watched Deadliest Warrior. Yep. It’s on Spike TV, the man channel. There’s lots of fake blood. LOTS of fake blood. All you need to know about this show is the title of one of the episodes…

William Wallace vs. Shaka Zulu.

Yep.

I wasn’t kidding.

 

One Response to “Diaper bags and fake blood”

  1. Heather Says:

    Pics of the wheel, please! 🙂


Leave a Reply

