A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Sockyarnorama April 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:04 pm
Tags: , ,

Today was apparently the Day of Sock Yarn Acquisition, rather unexpectedly. Prepare for photos!

Part 1 of DoSYA:

A couple of weeks ago, my friend Jill (who lives in Canada) fell madly in love with these clear converse shoes. Sadly, Journey’s doesn’t deliver outside the US, so I offered to help her by ordering the shoes myself and mailing them to her. She was very excited and said she’d send some handdyed sock yarn along with the money for the shoes, as a thank-you sort of thing. I thought, how cool! A skein of handdyed sock yarn, dyed by a friend.

I got the box today. It ain’t no “skein of sock yarn”.

It’s FOUR, and stitch markers, all made by Jill!

Gifts from Jill!

Isn’t everything pretty?! My favorite is the tweedy teal, though I also love the one with a bit of purple. The stitch markers are just awesome, too. I couldn’t believe she sent so much! Jill, thank you again! You are awesome!

Part 2 of DoSYA:

Once I got home, I decided to sit down and ply that “anton” fiber up. Here’s what I got.

The two skeins ended up a bit different (in one the colors matched up well, in the other they barberpoled pretty much the whole time) but each one is OVER 200 YARDS! That’s over 400 yards of fingering weight! I’m not sure I’ll do socks, but that’s an option!

I’m very pleased with how it turned out. The photo doesn’t show the color depth, or how sparkly it really is, or (the best part) how incredibly soft it is. I highly, highly reccommend SugarBeeStudios‘ batts. Wonderful stuff.

ALSO: for those coming tomorrow night to the craft group! I think I’ve decided that we’ll try The Beat coffee shop on 28th and Hennepin. 7pm, as usual, though if Janelle and I aren’t there right at 7 don’t give up, we’ll be there by 7:30. Call my cell if you need directions or anything.

 

4 Responses to “Sockyarnorama”

  1. You Know Who Says:

    Yeah, yeah, I know I’m slow.

    As an aside: *nom*

    Also: *extra nom, with some nom on the side*

    And lastly: at least Anton will be good for something (for once?).

  2. Nicole Says:

    I could eat that yarn.

    (All of it, but especially the Anton skeins.)

  3. Kristen Says:

    Hey, I’ve performed at The Beat before. Awesome. Too bad I can’t be there this week, though. Freakin’ tech week…

  4. Lauri Sam Says:

    Beautiful yarnr! Two questions: 1. Do you know where your friends found the elephant tea set they gave you for your birthday? 2. What is bubble tea?


Leave a Reply

