A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Good news, bad news April 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:59 pm
Tags: , , ,

Bad news first, right? Always bad news first.

I got an IM from my mom, earlier, letting me know that my grandma (who was not doing well at the retreat, and unbeknownst to me had fallen on Thursday) had gotten her MRI results back, and has broken both hips at this point. The doctors (and yes, we’re all shocked and upset by this) have said they will not treat her, and after the mandatory 3 day hospital stay she’ll be going to a nursing home.

On the one hand, I’m glad she’ll have the help she needs. On the other…. they aren’t treating her? She has a broken leg and two broken hips! Are they mad???

I suppose it will eventually get figured out, but seriously. This strikes me as Very Not Okay. And it is of course extremely sad that she’ll have to move into a home. I truly hope they find a good place where she’ll be comfortable and happy.

Well, now I suppose it’s time for the good news. The good news is twofold, but none of it is big news.

* I called the IRS about our tax return as I had heard nothing since I sent a copy of our wedding certificate (to prove our name change) over a month ago. Not only did they not immediately audit and then shoot me, they told me we’ll get our return in 3-4 weeks. As good as can be expected, considering.

* Our 3rd podcast episode is up now! We were going to record tomorrow, but decided to do it tonight while the retreat was still fresh in my mind.

I didn’t get to knit or spin today, because of work and then recording/editing the podcast. I’m hoping tomorrow I’ll get to ply up those singles, and Wednesday is of course craft night. To those involved: Any ideas for a meeting place? My requests for a location: within a short drive (preferably within 1 mile, in case I have to walk) of my apartment; good lighting; comfortable seating for a group of 5-6; open past 9 on Wednesdays; not too loud; something to eat/drink available.

Update!

I just heard from my mom. Apparently my Grandma misunderstood- it’s not her hip but her pelvis that is broken, and there’s no way to set that or do surgery to fix it. They will be continuing the physical therapy they’ve been doing and apparently they have some hope that she’ll eventually be mobile again, so all in all it’s much better than originally thought. Yay!

 

2 Responses to “Good news, bad news”

  1. Jen Says:

    I love your tags for this post. Quite descriptive. =0)

  2. ap Says:

    I sent you an email with a couple of coffee shop suggestions. Also, I am sorry to hear about your grandma–make sure she gets into a great nursing home with caring staff!

    I know it seems frustrating, but sometimes an operation is out of the question when you are older. My grandma who just passed away had surgery for her broken leg and I think that’s what really put her over the edge–her body went into shock after that and she couldn’t really fight off anything else. If you really think it is the wrong choice though, don’t be afraid to get a second or even third opinion! Not all doctors think the same way.


Leave a Reply

