A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

%&$#( Gems April 20, 2009

So, I’m playing Legend of Zelda: The Phantom Hourglass. I’m sure I’ve mentioned. For most of the game up to the point where I am now (about half) I didn’t have any kind of guide or walkthrough, except to get through the stupid temple (the timed one with the invincible enemies, remember?). However, Janelle brought over her boyfriend’s copy of the guide… and I found out something truly irritating.

In the game, there are three fairies. One of power, one of courage, and one of wisdom (if you know your Zelda, it’s like the triforce, only… fairies). You collect gems for each one, and when you have 10 of a type you can “upgrade” that fairy, giving you extra powers. For example I just upgraded my fairy of power and now my sword does more damage. At the moment, I have 10 power gems, 6 courage gems, and 7 wisdom gems.

According to the guide, if I’ve collected all possible gems by this point in the game, I should have 11 power gems, 10 courage gems, and 10 wisdom gems… and therefore have upgraded all three fairies.

$&@)@$!!! I have looked through the guide over and over trying to figure out which ones I have missed, and I can’t find them anywhere! All I can think is that they’re mouldering in some temple somewhere, and even though I thought I got that one, I somehow missed it. Grah! I don’t care. I’m gonna keep going anyway. Blar. Eventually, someday when I’m bored, I’ll hunt down the other gems. Today, I just wanna go to the dang Goron temple already.

In non video game news, I’m just about to the gusset on baudelaire #2. I decided that instead of working on these at the retreat, I’m going to finish them before the retreat, and cast on a new cardigan… this one, to be specific, with that denim patons classic wool I bought after Christmas. Sorry that link is ravelry only, but the cardigan pattern is only hosted there. In any case, my current plan goes like this– gusset and start heel turn tomorrow, finish heel and start leg Weds, finish leg and start ribbing Thurs, finish ribbing and bind off in the car Fri on the way up. Totally doable.

ps! Guys! We hit 100 downloads on the podcast! Also I’m putting up a podcast page with links for those not subscribed on itunes. Look to the upper right sometime tonight.

 

3 Responses to “%&$#( Gems”

  1. Abby Says:

    That would look great in Misti Cotton (I’d finally have a reason to buy some… lol).

    I may have to…

  2. Abby Says:

    Ooo, knit-a-long. =) I really like the tweedy yarn, though.

    Maybe I could use some Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran Tweed (Merino/silk/cashmere!)… Hmmm!

    (Just a bit of warning, though, I have terrible knitting ADD so there’s no guarantee I’d keep up with you.. lol)

    Also I meant to say I’m working on The Zelda Game for the Wii (Twilight Princess?) and I’m stuck in the Goron temple. Stupid Gorons.

  3. Abby Says:

    The Wii is technically my brothers. The BF and I yoinked it because he never played it (He prefers the X 360- spoiled, no?). I haven’t even touched the thing in a while. I need to go buy a shield or something (Whatsherfaceshadowlady keeps telling me I’ll die without one, my wooden one was burned by the firey bad guys), I’m not sure where to get it.


Leave a Reply

