A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Reanimate your… socks? April 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:09 pm
Tags: , ,

(For those that don’t know what the title references, watch this. Seriously.)

This entry contains the full story of something I mentioned in this post.

Last year, sometime in early May, I cast on a pair of baudelaire socks. I loved the pattern (though at the time I was fairly inexperienced and had some trouble with toe-up construction) and quickly got past the heel on the first sock. Then, with the wedding, honeymoon, moving, and getting a new job, the socks were left by the wayside and ignored for a few months. I had been meaning to work on them some more, and left them out on the dining room table one Friday as we packed for a camping trip.

We came home from the trip to this.

Carnage!My cats (I’m not naming names, but I know which one did it and she chews yarn regularly) pulled it down, chewed through the yarn in several places, and strung the project all over the apartment. At the time, I couldn’t face it. I put it in a box and decided I’d come back and assess the damage later, when the wound wasn’t so raw. A few weeks ago, I pulled it out and looked. It wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought.

Not so badThe sock itself is undamaged. There were two pieces of yarn completely chewed off, but they were fairly short. Other than that it was just a matter of rewinding the remaining yarn and doing a russian join. I put needles back in the sock today, got the pattern out, figured out my spot, and started in on it again. I love this yarn (it’s Dream in Color Smooshy in Black Parade) and the pattern is gorgeous, plus the black makes it work appropriate. I want these socks asap!

Today we went to Cory’s aunt and uncle’s place for a “Jesse’s in town” party thinly disguised as an Easter lunch. It was quite nice- everything they served was vegetarian! Jesse and I were both pleased with that. One particular aunt did bring up a few delicate topics, as she always does (kids, for the childfree Cory and I; tattoos, for the heavily tattooed Jesse) but all said and done it was a nice afternoon.

I spent the evening working on a Sooper Seekrit project that isn’t actually all that secret, but I haven’t mentioned it here yet and I probably won’t until the plan reaches fruition. You’ll see it here first, promise!

 

3 Responses to “Reanimate your… socks?”

  1. Abby Says:

    Those are cat-hair-o-licious. 😉

    Can’t wait to see ’em finished. ^_^

  2. Lauri Sam Says:

    pure gorgeousity…i am still too chicken to try socks…

  3. Rose Says:

    I love that pattern. It’s absolutely gorgeous. It reminds me of the bella mittens pattern.


Leave a Reply

