A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Halfway point April 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:06 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m just finishing the “no pick-up gusset” on these socks. It’s basically a reinforced heel flap, but on the sole rather than the back of the heel, and instead of being knit flat, it has gusset stitches on both sides. From what I can tell, the pattern transitions into a standard heel turn and then goes right into the leg. I’m a little concerned that the “eye of partridge” (slip stitch) heel being on the sole will be uncomfortable, but I guess I won’t find out until my partner gets the socks. I’ll tell you one thing, though- it is AWESOME to be at this point on both socks. Really, really nice feeling.

I don’t know if I mentioned, but I got Cookie A.’s new book, Sock Innovation. It’s really good. The whole first half is tips on designing and techniques for stitch patterns on socks- how to reverse and mirror cables, different toe types, that kind of thing. The second half is patterns, and several are really gorgeous. Sadly they’re all cuff-down, but you can do that style of sock two-at-once as well. I’ll probably do a pair of those next, either “bex” (coz hey, that’s me!) or “kristi” (the one on the cover).  Of course, I should probably finish my shawl first.

 

Leave a Reply

