A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

I promise I still own a camera March 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:25 pm
Tags:

I just haven’t done/made/seen anything worth taking a photo of while also in posession of said camera. I seem to forget it every time it would actually come in handy.

In any case, I’m actually blogging from Autumn and Tiffany’s place today. We’re over here drinking beer and playing rock band. Other than that, today has been fairly uneventful. So today, a yarn review!

Today’s review:

Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock Lightweight, 100% superwash merino wool, fingering weight. 360 yd per 128g ball.

Rating: ●●●●●

I’ve used this yarn three times- my Leyburns, some socks for my dad for last father’s day that I never got a photo of, and my still in progress Lapis socks.

Pros:

  • Soft and squishy. Very comfy to wear.
  • Incredible colors, and a huge huge variety- semisolids, variegateds of all kinds, even pastels and nearly-blacks.
  • Not terribly expensive- $18 a skein for the Lightweight.
  • Machine washable, so easy care and excellent for gifts.
  • Very tightly plied, so it will wear very well.

Cons:

  • A bit thick for fingering weight, so it takes some getting used to.
  • The variegated colors pool- a lot. There are patterns you can use to get around it, but if you hate pooling, you might want to stick to semi-solids. (Or the Leyburn pattern!)
  • Not fabulous yardage. If you have very large feet or want tall socks, get two skeins (though then it’s pretty pricey).

This is my all-time favorite sock yarn, honestly. It has great “sproing”, and is by far the most comfy on my feet of any sock yarn. The colors are rich and Tina has the most incredible eye for variegated yarns. I can honestly say I would be delighted to receive ANY of the colors on the Blue Moon website. I have only once found a knot in a skein, and it wasn’t a jump in color, so it was just a matter of doing a quick russian join. I heartily recommend this yarn to anyone that likes squishy socks!

 

Leave a Reply

