A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Stop drooling on the laceweight March 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:20 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I don’t know if any of you have noticed (ok I’m quite sure you have, actually) but of late I’ve been yearning, nay, lusting after lace patterns. I’ve bought nothing but lace and fingering weight yarns, and have been obsessively prowling through the “shawl and scarf” section of ravelry looking for that one, shining, perfect lace pattern.

Spring Knitty came out today.

When I opened the page and saw the cover pattern (here) I was… impressed, but not inspired to immediately cast on or anything. It’s nice, but it’s a little too rustic looking- not what I’ve been craving. I clicked through to the rest of the patterns… and just about died.

Aeolian.

My dream shawl- everything I’ve wanted in a shawl, perfectly executed in two sizes and three yarns, one of which is handspun. It has nupps; it has beads; it is an elongated, graceful triangle, wearable as a shawl, scarf, or wrap; it is complicated and involves several different, but related stitch patterns and charts; it is a veritable work of art.

I adore it. Simply adore it. I can honestly say that this is the first pattern I have ever looked at and immediately thought “I’ll need to make more than one of those.”

And …. did I mention it’s a free pattern?

I still have to find the perfect yarn for it. I may even end up spinning the yarn, because I don’t have any yarn right now that’s crying out to be that shawl, but I certainly do have a lot of really lovely spinning fibers. Otherwise, I still have around $50 of birthday money still kickin’ around that would nicely cover a big ol’ skein of laceweight something-or-other and enough beads to do the job. We’ll have to see how I feel after going to the bead store tomorrow with Kelly.

In other happenings, this is what I’ve been working on.

The bathrobe:

BlaghI still only have about 18 rows done. Have I mentioned how glad I am that I have until August to finish this thing? It is, however, looking quite nice and is appropriately cute and squishy. Has that going for it, anyway.

My dark BFL spinning project:

Yays!I have a little over one full color repeat done. I’m… not entirely sure how much of the total that is, but it isn’t much. I’m spinning a laceweight single, and I’ll either do a 2 ply fingering or a 3 ply DK. I’m leaning toward 3 ply at this point, I think it’d work very nicely with these colors.

 

5 Responses to “Stop drooling on the laceweight”

  1. Nicole Says:

    I drooled over that shawl, too. So. Goddamn. Pretty. Sadly, it’s way too complex for my current lace skill level. (Whines) Want shawl…

    I should stop saying things like this with my Swallowtail shawl WIP sitting right there. It’s gonna get jealous.

  2. You Know Who Says:

    Hey… hey… does that mean you’d make me one? If I asked nicely and bought you the yarn and beads and stuff? I’d probably just, y’know, squoosh it when it was done, but… It was so pretty…

  3. Lina Says:

    Oh I am SO making Aeolian! I already have the perfect purple-heaven lacey goodness yarn waiting for it. And I just bought myself some beads… I think I’m going nuts… bead knitting is probably going to suck, but wow is that a gorgeous shawl!

  4. Kathy Sammartano Says:

    Yes, that is a beautiful shawl, but yikes, does it look tricky. Won’t be trying that one anytime soon.
    Oh, um, what the heck are nupps?

  5. Lauri Sam Says:

    I thought of you when I saw the pattern for Aeolian when I saw it on knitty.com…only to find out you had already jumped on it and bought yarn and beads and everything…beautiful. I liked the absinthe sock pattern probably because of the color. I just bought the yarn to make ‘Imagine’… knitty.com can be dangerous for the bank account. I cannot wait to see your progress on Aeolian…I am still too wimpy to tackle lace shawls, or even socks. Sad, but true


Leave a Reply

