A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

I has a dumb March 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:13 pm
Tags: ,

Last night, after blogging about the book and yarn I received to make the robe with, I got down to the business of casting on. I decided on the 12 month size, pulled off a length of “tail” I felt would adequately cover 169 stitches (I was exactly right), grabbed a size 6 circular needle, and set to work. I very carefully counted 25, placed a marker, counted another 25, and so on until I got to that magic number- and then, for kicks, I counted again. 169. Perfect.

Then it was time for bed, so I put everything down and went to sleep. This morning, I got up and decided that it would be best not to drag the big old book with me to work, so I hooked up our scanner (it’s an all-in-one with a broken printer… have to get that fixed one of these days) and scanned the pattern pages, carefully making sure that all the text was readable and I would be able to use the pattern at work. I emailed it to myself as a PDF, and went off on my merry way.

After the initial morning rush of tickets, I pulled out my knitting and settled in for a quiet morning of seed stitch. I knit (and purled… and knit and purled and… etc) about, oh, maybe 35 stitches, and then I had a thought. Maybe, I said to myself, I should quickly check to make sure this needle is the right size. I’m pretty sure it is- but you know, just to be sure.

So I pulled out the needle gauge, and tested the needle in the size 6 hole.

And felt my heart sink.

It was not, after all, a size 6. It was a size 8.

I do not own any size 6 circulars. Or straights for that matter. Just a set of DPNs. I knew this- I even said to my husband as I dug through my drawer of needles “I don’t think I have a size 6, but I’ll just check.”, and for some reason when I grabbed the size 8 my brain said “SIZE 6! SIZE 6!” and for some incomprehensible reason… I believed it. So now, I was stuck at work with 169 very carefully counted cast-on stitches, a very carefully scanned and printed pattern page, and 35 lovingly knit (and purled) worked  stitches…. all the wrong size of needle. And I didn’t bring an extra project to work with me.

Luckily, my husband had just one final today (his school has trimesters) and was able to run to the LYS for me and picked up a size 6 24″ Hiya Hiya, and then came and had lunch with Janelle and me (and of course, I wasn’t about to cast on 169 stitches again… so I just undid the 35 worked stitches and slid the cast on to the size 6. Who’s going to be able to tell, besides you and me?). So all turned out just fine, except that this is all I managed to get done today.

Sad.Oh well. There’s always tomorrow.

 

2 Responses to “I has a dumb”

  1. Lina Says:

    Oh man, I’m glad that turned out well! I hate it when things like that happen. At least now you can work on it tomorrow. 🙂

  2. You Know Who Says:

    *patpat* It’s ok. At least you got new needles out of this, right?


Leave a Reply

