A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

And the winner is…. March 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:13 pm
Tags: , ,

Nicole! The only one who properly guessed by leaving a comment. 😡 I did, however, get several guesses via chat programs, including a smurf, a sonic the hedgehog action figure, and a commando beret for Simon. But no, it is, in fact:

Hat!

The Berry Baby Hat! Cory’s friend and his girlfriend had a baby a couple of months ago, and due to some very strange but private circumstances I didn’t really have an opportunity to knit anything for the child. So, here is a blueberry hat for him. I quite like it- and I may make more, eventually. Very cute, and fast!

Top view

I used KnitPicks Main Line in blueberry, and Rowan RYC Cashcotton DK in a sort of heathered green. I had both yarns leftover from other projects (gasp! I know! but they were complete balls so it’s ok). Size 8 dpns.

Not having a baby to model the hat, I used what I had available.

Angry model.

He was not pleased.

Having finished that at work, and not having gotten my yarn for the baby bathrobe I’m knitting for some other expectant friends (it should arrive tomorrow!) I decided to wile away the hours on another little quick project: Resisty the Resistor!

Resisty says: hi!

My husband is a student in Automated Systems and had an electronics class and lab this trimester, and when I found this pattern he HAD to have one. So here he is! Cory says it can resist 25,000,000,000 Ω (25 gigaohms, for the unenlightened- that’s unheard of and wouldn’t register on a meter) plus or minus 5%. He picked the colors and stripe pattern, of course.

 

3 Responses to “And the winner is….”

  1. Nicole Says:

    He is not very pleased, your cat
    He does not like this berry hat!
    It sags and droops upon his pate
    and on his fuzzy nerves does grate
    He acts as if he’s so ashamed
    like his dignity’s been maimed
    But take no offense, dear knitter
    he’d scoff the same at scarf or sweater
    or slacks or sock or fancy tophat
    A militant nudist, your cat.

  2. Lina Says:

    I love the berry hat, I even love it on your cat! LOL, sorry Nicole for stealing the rhyming thing from you but it really did fit! 🙂

    Oh and Resisty is adorable! I love it.

  3. Kathy Sammartano Says:

    Very cute hat! But you better get it to them quickly, before it’s too warm for nice knit hats.
    And that resistor is cute, too, but I think it’s name should be Mantra.
    Think about it.


Leave a Reply

