A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Knot bad February 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:21 pm
Tags: ,

Sorry, couldn’t help myself.

I was struck, this morning, with a sudden desire for a small project bag- something, say, the right size for a sock project. After a while browsing Etsy, I had an idea of what I wanted, but no desire to wait 2-7 days for it to ship to me- nor did I particularly want to spend $10+ on something so (relatively) simple.

Now, those that know me probably know that I’m not the greatest at sewing. I can make a decent pieced quilt, and maybe a tote bag or two, but I’m by no means accomplished and I tend to avoid sewing if at all possible. I’m just not precise or patient enough, most of the time- though I do love how fast you can end up with a finished object.

Well, then I found out that I’m going to a party of sorts with Janelle tonight, and it is likely to be the kind of thing where I won’t want my big ol’ purse with me, so I decided to give this tutorial a shot and make myself a Japanese Knot bag.

Here’s what I came up with. It’s not perfect (some of the seams are kinda puckery and I think the lining is slightly bigger than the outer bag for some reason) but it’s cute, and it works.

Robot fabric = WIN

BotBag

Perfect for a skein of yarn and your sock in progress.

Interior

Note the credit card / ID pocket. I thought that was a nice touch, myself (yes, it was my idea, heh).

Card Pocket

When your project’s all packed up, you just slip the long handle through the short one…

Ready to go

Sling it on your wrist, and head out!

Off we go!

And speaking of heading out? I’m gone. See ya!

 

One Response to “Knot bad”

  1. Kathy Sammartano Says:

    Looks great! I knew you could do it!


Leave a Reply

