A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Treehuggin’ February 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:12 pm
Tags: , ,

I decided to cast on for the Leyburn sock Knit-a-long last night. The idea behind this particular KAL is for every participant to knit the same sock pattern, using a different colorway of any type of Socks that Rock from Blue Moon Fiber Arts (lightweight, mediumweight, heavyweight, or silkie). I’m using lightweight, in colorway “Treehugger”.

A toe

I love it.

Close-up

Even just by looking at the photo on the site, I knew this would be one of my favorite colorways, but knit up it is stunning.  It’s a cool pattern anyway, but on a seriously variegated yarn like this one, it just sings. You make the lattice pattern by stringing floats across the front of your work- sort of like backwards fair isle- and, two rows later, knitting a stitch and pulling it up under the float. Very slick, and terribly impressive looking. Can’t wait to finish these up.

The weather forecast recently has been predicting a bit of snow, but last I checked it was supposed to start tomorrow. Thus I was rather surprised to look out of the window today and see this:

Snowin'

It doesn’t bother me, as I don’t have to drive, but I know a bunch of people aren’t too happy right now. Ah well, it is still winter after all.

 

Leave a Reply

