A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Nothing to say but it’s okay February 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

Relatively innocuous day, really. I worked; I went to a meeting; I went to lunch with Janelle; I went home; I blogged.

A few interesting tidbits (I think I’m enstating Random Thursdays, guys):

  • Janelle and I stopped in at Barnes and Noble after lunch and I got her a birthday present (her birthday is next Tuesday)- several volumes of manga that she collects.
  • We had leftover chili for dinner. It always seems to taste even better after sitting in the fridge for a day.
  • I popped over to Anne Hanson’s blog a few minutes ago and saw a new pattern she’s released- hoarfrost– that I desperately covet and plan to knit from the leftover Pagewood Farm Yukon that I have.
  • I’m in another “none of my current projects are doing it for me” rut. I’m probably over half done with Cory’s second brown sock, and as long as I keep bringing that to work I should finish it in less than a week or so, but I’m finding myself sitting at home doin’ nothing. Very unlike me. I may cast on the Leyburn socks I’m s’posed to be working on for a KAL. Or maybe I’ll just buckle and buy hoarfrost. *droooool*

I think I’m going to go ahead and review the yarn I’m using for Cory’s brown socks. I’ve grumbled quietly long enough, I think.

Today’s review:

Sandnes Garn Sisu, 80% superwash merino, 20% nylon. 173 yd per 50g ball. (Purchased at Depth of Field Yarn in Minneapolis)

Rating: ●●○○○

I’ve only used this yarn the once. I bought it, originally, to be mittens, but the pattern was very intricate and I didn’t feel up to it at the time, so I decided to take the opportunity (having plain enough  yarn for mansocks) to knit some new socks for Cory.

Pros:

  • Machine washable. Always good for socks.
  • Relatively inexpensive. I had to buy two balls, but each was only $6.50.
  • Nylon content probably means it’s pretty sturdy.
  • Lots of colors. Great for fair isle and colorwork.

Cons:

  • Very thin, stringy, and SPLITTY! This stuff comes unplied as soon as I look at it. No sproing or bounce to it at all.
  • God forbid you frog it. Ever. The splittiness increases by about 10fold, and it never really relaxes back to its original state. And if possible I think it gets even more stringy.
  • Only comes in solids. Booooring.
  • Not particularly soft.

If you never frog it, it’s an ok yarn, but I don’t think I’d use it again for socks. My gauge came to 10 sts/in! That’s classified as microgauge, technically, and is not nice to my hands. Too darn thin. I might consider it for some colorwork mittens someday- the nylon content would make nice sturdy mittens, and I care less about sproinginess for anything that isn’t socks. Mittens don’t have to be cushy. I will not, however, use it again for socks.

 

Leave a Reply

