A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Knitting? What knitting? February 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:46 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Oh you mean THIS knitting.

wrap?

*cough* Yeah, uh, totally been working on the whole time. *nods* Mmm-hmm. Yup.

Ok, ok, fine, you caught me. I haven’t worked on it since Monday. But yesterday I was busy, and today I got this headache and I was super dizzy and…

What? Excuses? Well maybe, but they’re totally valid, I swear!

Alright, fine. Well I finished the 5th repeat anyway, so lay off. Only four left, I can totally get that done by Monday. Ish. Maybe.

Shut up, ok?

Today was Knittin’ Kitten night! So, yes, I did work on the wrap. For dinner (as this day there are three eating- Janelle always comes with me) I made a really tasty pasta recipe.

Radiatore

It’s called “Fusilli with garbanzo beans” but I used radiatore, and I added peas, and I used a half recipe but doubled the spices… Ok so it’s basically a whole new recipe. Here’s what I did:

Ingredients

– 1/2 lb radiatore

– 1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained

-1/2 tsp salt, plus a bit for the pasta water

– 1/2 tsp black pepper

– 1 tsp oregano

– 1/2 cup frozen peas

– 2 tbsp olive oil

– 3 tbsp balsamic vinegar

– 2 tbsp garlic, chopped

– 1/2 large yellow onion

– 1/2 bag fresh spinach

Directions

Cook pasta as directed. 3 min into cooking time, add frozen peas.

Meanwhile, heat oil over med-high heat. Add onions and cook for 3-4 min. Add garlic and oregano and stir for 30 seconds. Add vinegar, beans, salt, and pepper and cook for 5 minutes.

When pasta is done cooking to your liking, reserve 1/2 cup of cooking liquid. Drain pasta and peas. Add cooking liquid, pasta, and peas to pan with bean mixture and stir. Add spinach and toss/stir until spinach is slightly wilted. Serve.

It was really quite tasty, and very good for you. Nom nom nom.

After dinner we headed out to Knittin’ Kitten. This time I remembered to take pictures! Well… one picture. Then I forgot again. But here is what poor Sam was dealing with…

Sam's knot

One heck of a tangle. Apparently she’d left the knitting in her bag all week and it made a real mess of itself. She ended up cutting a big chunk out. Ouch.

 

Leave a Reply

