A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

On Soup January 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 7:35 pm
Tags: , ,

I love soup. Absolutely love it, and as far as I know, always have. This might have something to do with my complete disgust with any month that sees temperatures above 65, but we’ll leave conjecture out of it. Fact is, from September through April, I ingest as much soup as possible without dissolving. However, since I became vegetarian, I’ve run head-first into the fact that most soups contain, if not meat itself, chicken broth. It appears to be the flavor enhancement of choice for soup cooks and try as I might, I can’t get the flavor quite right without it. But I keep trying.

Tonight’s installment: Creamy Wild Rice Soup. I used to adore Chicken Wild Rice soup, and while broth-based wild rice soups are alright, they’ve never done it for me. I need that creamy base, preferably with lots of carrots and mushrooms. So, I made this.

Souuuup

It was excellent. Still not as flavorful as its chickeny brethren, but quite a respectable soup.

At work, I accomplished the sleeve seperation and 7 body rows of my Wisteria.

Sweater top

A sleeve opening

However, this is going to have to get set aside as soon as I can get to a yarn shop, because I got news today that my aunt’s husband passed away last week of liver failure. I never knew this aunt very well, but she crochets and I’ve always had an affinity with her, so I’ve decided to knit her a wrap or shawl of some kind to help her through what I can only imagine is a completely crushing, heart-rending time for her. (Any prayers, good thoughts, waves of positivity, etc would be much appreciated I am sure)

On a lighter note, today I got my (early) birthday present from Cory (which I technically paid for as I am the breadwinner currently)– Disturbed tickets! In fact they are floor tickets, so Cory, Janelle, and I will be heading to the Target center on May 8th, and if I come back with a black eye or something don’t be surprised. 😉 It’s not just a concert, but a full-fledged lifestyle festival with tattoo artists and vendors and three other bands. I am PSYCHED. Disturbed has been one of my very favorite bands for years and years. May is so far away! Agh!

Well, back to spinning. I’d like to finish this teal sometime soon please.

 

3 Responses to “On Soup”

  1. Lina Says:

    That soup looks yummy!

    I saw Disturbed in concert back in ’01 at Ozzfest. It was pretty awesome, I must say. I’m sure you’ll have a good time!

    Also, I’m really sorry to hear about your aunt’s husband. My condolences to you and your family.

  2. You Know Who Says:

    Hooray for sweater! Hooray for soup! (Chris doesn’t like soup that much!) Hooray for concerts! Hooray for Wisteria! Hooray for shawl! Hooray in general!

  3. You Know Who Says:

    Except, uh, sorry about your aunt. Really sorry.


Leave a Reply

