A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Invisible Progress January 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:27 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I don’t have a whole lot to show you today. This is not because I didn’t work on anything… it’s because what I did work on is something I can’t show you (yet). I spent most of today writing and editing the sock pattern, making the charts for it, and trying to figure out exactly how much handholding is enough. It’s difficult, I find, to decide what constitutes an acceptable amount without getting ridiculous and giving step-by-step visuals. I ended up deciding that, while my pattern has enough space to include a brief description of “wrap and turn”, others have done a far better job of detailing how to do things like the “magic cast-on” and the “sewn bind-off”, etc.

The pattern is mostly done now– at least, the bones of it are done. It’s pretty much completely written down, and the charts are all done, but there’s still some tweaking and I don’t yet have the photos from my sister yet. Plus I’m going to do some more professional looking layout design and things for this pattern. I just feel like if you’re going to pay money for something, it should be as nice as possible.

I worked a little bit on Wisteria today, but you can’t really see the progress. Plus, since there’s currently 284 stitches crammed onto a 27″ circular needle, you can’t even see the shape of it. So here is an olive green yarn lump.

Yarn lump! Hooray!

I have started the raglan increases, so in 10 rows or so I’ll be putting the sleeves on waste yarn and comparitively zooming along the body, which “only” has 214 stitches.

I also took a photo of the full bobbin of teal in good light, so I think I finally managed to get a fairly accurate color down.

Aaagh Teal

Sick of teal yet? Too bad, I have 2 more bobbins of singles and then plying and then knitting it up and then maybe you’ll get a break. Maybe. (This is my best friend’s favorite color, after all.) I’m currently working on predrafting the second 1/3rd of this wool, so again… not visible progress. But there it is, a whole day spent in various endeavors and really? Nothin’ to show for it.

 

3 Responses to “Invisible Progress”

  1. You Know Who Says:

    That’s right favourite colour! (I am posh and British for the moment. Just pretend.) I eagerly await teal-to-face time.

    I love the yarn lump and, of course, want to squish it at the earliest possible opportunity. I.e. tomorrow.

  2. berlinbetty Says:

    Wisteria is looking great! I’m going to come over and steal that teal from you. I’ll tie you up in your own yarn. You’ll be too afraid of harming the yarn to stop me!

  3. sheepishlittleblog Says:

    Curses! You’ve discovered my weak point! *flees with teal*


Leave a Reply

