A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

500! January 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:34 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sometime last night, somebody out there clicked on my blog (or a page within it) and made a little number click over to 500. That’s right- I officially have gotten over 500 pageviews on this little blog of mine. I’m six kinds of proud, (though also hopeful that one day 500 hits will seem like nuthin’) so in return for your loyalty, darling readers, I’m publishing my very first pattern- absolutely free!

animal-cracker-hat

You can click the link below to download the PDF, or (hopefully soon) I’ll be uploading it as a free Ravelry download.

A Practical Animal Cracker Hat

This is a hat I designed for a friend who wanted Ron’s hat from the animal cracker scene in the movie Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I wanted it to look like that hat, but be practical for Minnesota winters, since Ron’s was knit at a very loose gauge and didn’t really even cover his ears properly. This pattern is what I came up with. It has not been test knit, so if you find an error, please leave a comment here or message me on Ravelry, and I’ll post errata.

Here’s how far I am on the sock:

Sock with a bit of leg

Not much different, really.

I spent about and hour prepping this teal stuff last night for spinning. Compared to the possum, it’s impossibly coarse and hard to draft, but really it’s not that bad. Just comparitively unpleasant. As it was so difficult to draft, I did this:

Nests

The color is totally off. Bear with me. It’s the brightest teal you can imagine.

I broke off 8 inch pieces of top, split them in half, and pre-drafted the heck out of them until I ended up with a long wispy bit of wool, like so.

Wispy

It’s spinning up rather nicely, but totally different than the opossum.

Teal bobbin

It’s much smoother and more dense. I’m not sure yet whether it’ll end up as 2 or 3 ply. All I know is that the whole basket of little nesties up there? That’s one and one-third ounces. Out of four.

This is gonna take a while.

 

4 Responses to “500!”

  1. berlinbetty Says:

    That’s a great teal, that’s what I want for Dietrich! Congrats on the hundred views! I’m crossing my fingers for two. Sooo, I borrowed my mother in laws bread maker. I made the most awesome bread today (thanks for the inpiration) the damn dog grabbed it and ran!

  2. You Know Who Says:

    Hooray for teal! Sorry about the whole having to predraft for forever, but… but… I’m kind of not. 😛

    Hooray for Animal Cracker Hat! Now for my hat, right? Right?

  3. Lina Says:

    That teal is just gorgeous! I can’t wait to see it all spun.

    Congrats on #500 views! That’s an awesome hat. 🙂

  4. Rachel Reynolds Says:

    Great Hat! I love Harry Potter and kntting… AND there is so much knitting in Harry Potter! Can’t wait to see more patterns!


Leave a Reply

