A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

The One with Half a Sock January 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:43 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

As if it’ll be the only one. But this one is important! It is important because it means I’m half done with the second sock for my Great Uncle! This fills me with such joy you guys you have no idea

Anyway. I did not actually turn the heel today, though I got a good start on the turnin’ and I’ll probably finish by bedtime. I had forgotten exactly how many repeats were on the foot… I was thinking six and a half, so I thought I was closer to the heel than I was. Turns out it was seven and a half. Frankly, I’m impressed I held on that long.

Half a sock, joy!

The reason I was having such trouble sticking to the sock was, as usual, my spinning. I’ve just really been enjoying it these past few days… having extra bobbins made such a difference for me. Besides, look at this stuff!

Scale shot

Yep.

Skein, unfinished

I finished it tonight. It is not, however, “finished”- I didn’t wash it and set the twist yet, this is fresh off the wheel. It’s nicely balanced though (meaning the skein, held in a large loop, doesn’t twist up on itself. Overplied yarn would). I ended up getting about 180 yards out of 3 ounces, chain plied. I don’t know the WIP yet as it isn’t washed and it may bloom, but it’s about worsted now and I’m hoping it blooms to a heavy worsted/aran weight. It’s very fluffy and light!

Now, I’m going to start spinning the teal. I have 4 ounces of that and I want a similar weight. I’ll probably shoot for a proper 3 ply this time.

Tomorrow I want to get at least 1/3 of the leg of the second sock done, too, and hopefully (no promises) I’ll finish it on Saturday. Hopefully. Maybe then I can get back to my poor neglected sweater.

…and spinning.

……..and the Leyburn sock knitalong. (something tells me I may have too many projects?)

 

2 Responses to “The One with Half a Sock”

  1. You Know Who Says:

    You can never have too many projects! Except when you do. You might.

    Oh, I can’t wait to squish the possum! And the teal! And, and..!

    Have you played any more with your violin since the day it came? You should, or you’ll have noodle arm forever.

  2. Lina Says:

    Congrats on the half sock, LOL.

    Lovely yarn! Can’t wait to see the teal. 🙂


Leave a Reply

