A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Monumental January 20, 2009

Today was amazing. I feel incredibly lucky and honored to be involved with this historic day, and I hope that even people who did not support President Obama (it’s so amazing to type that) will at least recognize the significance of this event, if not come together in a unified nation, looking forward with hope.

I had a lot of trouble concentrating today at work long enough to knit more than a few stitches. I’m hopelessly behind on the second sock- only a repeat and a half into the foot. It’s pathetic, I know, but today was an exception… an exceptional day.

As I walked home, I felt like the world was cheering with me, the sky ablaze in color.

Sunset intersection

By the time I got to the park, it had faded somewhat, but it was still beautiful.

Sunset park

Tonight, I didn’t knit. I baked bread (we were completely out- how do we go through it so fast? Oh- right- it’s DELICIOUS).

NOM BREAD OM NOM

I spun some. I’m done with 2 bobbins and working on the last.

2 bobbins full

In progress bobbin 3

I spun it a bit thinner than intended. I’ll probably do either a 3 ply or chain ply. Less yardage overall, but a nicer, rounder yarn than a 2ply. It’s still soft and delicious and awesome. I’m hoping to get it done this week, though really I should buckle the heck down on this sock.

In the interest of said buckling, I’m thinking of going to a new knitting group tomorrow. It’s at the Spyhouse, on Nicollet and 25th, only about 4 long blocks from my apartment. The group is called the Knittin’ Kitten, and apparently they are a pretty cool bunch, so I’m hoping they’ll accept me. It’s at 7… so, if it’s too cold, Cory can bring me at 7:45 or 8, and if it’s warm enough, I can walk and get there at 7 no problem.

Also, hopefully, next trimester Cory won’t have such late classes, and will be home from work earlier. I much preferred last tri when he got home around 6:30. 8:15pm is NOT dinner time. It is well past dinner time. Sadly… it is when we have dinner.

I’m sure others have said far more, far more eloquently, than I have or can regarding today’s events. I can only hope all of you are as filled with joy and hope as I am.

 

3 Responses to “Monumental”

  1. berlinbetty Says:

    Ah! I want that bread! I’ve been DYING to try baking bread, but I’m unnaturally afraid and intimidated. I just saw a picture of a bread machine gone bad. Nightmares.

  2. You Know Who Says:

    I want your bread too. It is delicious for sures.

    While I am excited about the possum getting spun up, I agree that your uncle’s sock ought to come first.

  3. Lina Says:

    I am totally excited about today (yesterday?) too! I didn’t say it any more eloquently in my blog either, though, LOL.

    That bread looks amazing… I want some too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

