A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

In which I am bitchslapped by the universe January 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 9:30 pm
Tags: , , ,

Man, today was boring again. I need to have more interesting days!

…I don’t actually mean that. I’d rather life was boring, but calm… rather than the kind of “interesting” I usually end up getting (IE the Infamous Towing Incident of 08).

EDIT. Okay. Between typing that first bit, and now (span of about an hour) I managed to get jalapeno juice in my good eye, got a call from my mom saying she’s in the ER for a potential heart issue (probably just her hiatal hernia, they’re doing some tests), and then in a stunning feat of brilliance sat down to blog without washing my hands and GOT JALAPENO JUICE IN THE OTHER EYE.

Next time I start to say my life is boring, somebody please attempt to stop me.

In any case, today I got most of the leg done on the sock before my left hand said “OW OW OW STOPPIT” and I had to quit for a while. I might have to pick the sweater back up for a few days… the small yarn/small needles thing sometimes makes my hand joints hurt, so maybe something bigger is in order. This is as far as I got before stopping.

Sock leg

I’m maybe 2 inches from being done. Hellova time to hurt my stupid hand.

Oh well, it’ll give me time to write up the pattern.

Leg closeup

As you can see, I ended up deciding to continue the peg pattern up the leg. I realized, after I hit 6 repeats, that I still had a couple more inches of foot left to go, so I might as well just go for the full 121 point board. I may run out of yarn, but Janelle says she’ll take me out to 3 kittens to look for more if I need to. I have all 12 repeats done now; just the final point dots and the ribbing left to go.

I made chili for dinner, if you’re wondering how I got jalapeno juice in my eye (it helps that I’m incredibly stupid and, apparently, can’t be taught).

Chili nom

I had the same issue as last night, forgetting to take a photo, but this time I was already almost done eating… so you get a picture of what’s left in the pot. I’d give you a recipe, but it really isn’t one, as I had an ingredient list from Cory’s sister Jesse and just sort of tossed in whatever seemed good. I’ll give you at least what I put in.

  • 1 whole yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 can tomatoes with juice
  • 1 bag frozen fake ground beef crumbles (I use Morningstar Farms)
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2.5 cups water
  • a handful of chopped green onion
  • a chopped jalapeno
  • a couple of tablespoons of garlic
  • spices: cumin, chili powder, cayenne, black pepper, ground mustard seed, dill, celery salt, and a little curry powder

Then I just sauteed the onions and garlic in a little canola oil, threw the rest into the pot, and simmered it for about 25 minutes. I served it with some cheese and sour cream, and of course bread (I serve everything with bread… I would probably serve bread with bread if I could get away with it). It was really tasty. Don’t skimp on the chili powder and cayenne! It’s supposed to burn a little (just not in your eyes. No, go wash your hands. Seriously.)

And by the way- any and all prayers/good thoughts/waves of positivity/whatever for my mom are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

 

One Response to “In which I am bitchslapped by the universe”

  1. You Know Who Says:

    Well she better be okay! I need a hug or two from her now and again!

    Uh, good job on the jalapeno juice?

    Seriously good job on the sock. Glad you are almost done with one of them, at least!

    I want some of that chili… and bread…

    It’s supposed to be a nice, balmy 20º! We could wear shorts and sandals! In fact, lets!


Leave a Reply

