A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Mmmm, Spicy! January 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 8:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

(Puzzle Pirates reference, for the curious)

For the epicurious, however, I’m talking about the soup I made tonight. I have a thing for squash soup. Rather a large thing, in fact. However, due to not previously having an immersion blender, I hadn’t ever made squash soup before. Tonight I decided to try it out.

Souuuuup of the eeeeevening

It. Was. Incredible. Definitely the best squash soup I’ve ever had, though quite unlike your standard plain ‘ol squash soup.

Sorry for the not-so pretty photo, I had actually eaten half of my bowl before I thought to take a picture. It just smelled too good.

A recipe!

Ingredients

  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into approx 1in. pieces
  • 2 carrots, peeled and cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 potato, peeled and cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 T garlic, minced (I really like garlic, so this may be too much for you. try 1 T)
  • 2 T butter
  • 4 cups of vegetable broth
  • Approx 1 tsp curry powder
  • Approx 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (more to taste)
  • Approx 1/2 tsp celery salt
  • Salt and black pepper to taste

Melt butter in a large stock pot. Cook potatoes, carrots, onions, squash, and garlic in butter for 3-5 minutes- until onion is translucent. Add broth, celery salt, curry powder, and crushed red pepper. If vegetables are not covered, add more broth or water until just covered. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, cover, and cook for 40 minutes or until squash is very tender. Blend approx 2/3 of soup either in a blender or with a immersion blender. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve with fresh bread and butter.

In sock news, I turned the heel today. I did not end up adding a gusset, which I’m still not sure was a great idea, but seeing as his brother had flat feet, my uncle is unlikely to have high arches (the normal reason for adding a gusset to a toe-up sock). The shape of a gussetless sock amuses me.

Funny shape

I did a standard wrap and turn short row heel. I use the method where you double-wrap the stitches to prevent holes.

Heel

Hopefully I’ll get the leg done by Friday or so and can start on the other sock (and writing this sucker down!).

 

2 Responses to “Mmmm, Spicy!”

  1. You Know Who Says:

    I’m glad you decided what to do with the socks! They look squishy and appropriately sockish. I’m glad.

    Even if Cory doesn’t want your soup, I do! It looks all delicious and delectable and delightful and other d words that are awesome and good and whatnot.


Leave a Reply

