A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

No Pegs on this Leg January 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 6:51 pm
Tags: , , ,

The cribbage socks are progressing nicely. I got to the 6th iteration of the peg pattern, which is the last one, and realized that I am going to run out of peg pattern. The traditional cribbage board has either 61 or 121 points, and 6 iterations of the peg pattern plus one extra peg gives me the 61 I need. I don’t have room for 121, unless I were to make them as tall as they are long, and I don’t have the yarn for that, so I’m thinking of doing something like this

Leg cableon the front and back of the leg, continuing to be flanked by the twisty cables.

If you can’t really visualize it here is a crappy sketch.

Sock sketch

I hope it looks alright. I was going to swatch the cable, but realized that I couldn’t swatch it flat as it has three cable rows in a ..row, as it were, so I lost steam and I’m just going to try it and hope for the best.

Sock foot

Here’s the sock as it is now (I PROMISE it’s olive green. The light in here is so terrible). I think it looks great. I can not for the life of me get a good shot of the pattern close-up, but hopefully I’ll get better shots this weekend.

Is this any better? I took it with flash.

Sock foot with SHEENDang. Shiny. Well, you can sort of see the cribbage peg pattern there.

My goal for tonight was to get to the gusset (I’m going to attempt to do a gusseted short row heel of some kind). That’s only 10 or so rows away but I might not make it because of the aforementioned loss of steam. I think I might need a break for a bit, and it’s already 6:45 and I go to bed at 10, so I’m not sure I’m going to get there.

I discovered today that I cannot, now that I have posted photos on my blog, publish this pattern via any online or offline knitting publication. They all require no previous display of the pattern “in whole or part”- not even a dang photo. So, this will probably be published right here on your friendly neighborhood blog, or perhaps as a PDF on Ravelry. We shall see.

For now, I’m going to go roast some vegetables. It’s cold out, my oven needs to be on.

Closing question- stick with “Two for His Nibs”, or go for “Two for His Heels” in the hopes that the cribbage types will get the joke regardless?

 

4 Responses to “No Pegs on this Leg”

  1. berlinbetty Says:

    Two For His Heels. I think that just sounds better.

    The sock is looking amazing, you should be very proud of yourself! I can’t believe you can’t publish your pattern because you’ve shown progress pictures!! That’s pretty stupid. Go listen to some disturbed and relax.

  2. You Know Who Says:

    I like “nibs,” personally.

    Also, the big cable thingy looks pretty cool, though I think that maybe leaving the leg bit blank (with or without the twisty side cables) would also look suitable masculine.

    If you decide that lack of yarn isn’t a problem and need a ride back to 3K or something so as to make these tall-as-long socks, it’s no problem (but it would have to be Friday or the weekend). I would also help with the payings, as long as you play electric violin for me.

  3. Nicole Says:

    I vote “nibs,” too. Because, really, any chance to use a word like “nibs” is a chance that should be taken.

    I’m liking the cable idea. Though I’d make the cable panel as wide as the two cribbage board sections combined, to make it more cohesive (it looks two to four stitches narrower, from your diagram).

  4. Joe Says:

    I like “two for his heels” just for the pun factor… Great socks! Where can I get some?

    BTW, cribbage is always 121… some boards you “go around” twice.

    Cheers,
    Joe


Leave a Reply

