A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Beware the Carnage… January 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitbytes @ 10:46 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

So I got up today thinking that the interesting part of my day would begin at approximately 4pm, at which time I would leave work with Janelle. Cory drove me to work, as I was going in early, and I settled into a fairly boring, slow day (a treat after yesterday’s madness). Little did I know the horrors that awaited me come lunchtime.

I ate my quiche fairly quickly, so I could get knitting on my sweater collar. I had gotten a good few rows in, when suddenly I noticed something… something bad. Something very bad.

Post-SurgerySee that pretty cable? The X right next to the red thing? Yeah, that didn’t look anything like that 40 minutes before I took this picture. Instead of looking like this: “X” it looked something like this: > <

Somehow, I hadn’t crossed that cable. I had turned each half around and gone back the other way. Unfortunately, that was 5 rows prior to where I was and every row is cabled and I really, really did not want to rip back. At all. So I did what I had to do.

I pulled those 8 stitches off of the needles. I dropped all of them down 5 rows, to just before the mis-crossed cable. And I painstakingly, arduously laddered each and every stitch back up, correcting the cabling on each row using 2 dpns and a crochet hook.

Mid-operation

I know. Horrifying. Sorry to show you such carnage, but you have to understand, you see.

Once that ordeal was complete, the rest of the workday was fairly normal. It never did get busy again, which was very nice indeed.

After work, Janelle and I went back to my place for omelettes, and then set off in search of Ikea (with a short detour for cat food). I forgot to take any pictures, so you’ll have to make do with the after shots. She got a messenger bag (the reason we went, actually) with pencil case and pouch, and some sparkly juice stuff.

BAGSOMG

Ya Drunk.

As for the rest of the evening? Well, I think this next photo speaks for itself.

I don't get it

And now: bed.

 

2 Responses to “Beware the Carnage…”

  1. Lina Says:

    Oh my, I am impressed (and horrified) at your dropping those stitches and cabling them back up! I think I would have put it down in disgust and come back later to sadly rip it back. Your way was much more creative and effective, I think. 😉

  2. You Know Who Says:

    Very daring, that. If I knitted and this happened, I’d have given up and handed it over to you. I’m a jerk like that.

    I really look crazy in those photos, I think.

    Also, delicious.


Leave a Reply

