A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

A Late and Sleepy Post January 5, 2009

Filed under: NaKniSweMoDo — knitbytes @ 10:21 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Today was… well. For starters, work was insane. For those that don’t know, I work for a major computer company, contracted to a major finance company, doing deskside support ticket coordination. Basically, when something isn’t working, you call the helpdesk, and they create a ticket that gets routed to various groups. For deskside issues (single user issues, basically) they come to me, first. I look at each one, decide if it’s really our issue, and if it is, I edit it, add any notes for the tech, and assign it out. It’s a fairly simple process, but each one takes a fair amount of thought and about 5 to 10 minutes, depending.

On a normal day, we have about 40-50 tickets come in.

Today, we had 127. One hundred and twenty-seven vile, hateful, evil tickets.

I’m exhausted, and I can only imagine how tired the technicians are. Poor guys.Normally I like to keep each of them at 10 tickets or less, but today they were all sitting at 15-20 all. day. long.

After work, Cory and I and my siblings congregated at my mom’s place for dinner and to help take down her Christmas decorations. This gave me an opportunity to give her the hat that I managed to finish between tickets at work today. She loves it, which is very good, because I loved it 🙂 so if she hadn’t (yeah right, she’s my mom) I would have.. probably kept it. And worn it, and gotten a horrible rash on my ears. So thanks for saving my ears, mom!

Mom's Verity

Sadly both photos of the back suffered from terminal blurry, which appears to be the camera after all (or maybe user error, who knows, I want a new camera anyway) so this pic is all you get.

What am I doing now? So glad you asked! I took the opportunity last night in a much-needed break from Verity’s hatband to cast on:

Wisteria! (insert angels’ chorus, trumpets, etc. here) My second sweater of NaKniSweMoDo, in all its glory. I’ve wanted to knit this pattern since way back when the Twist Collective site was just a selection of preview images. Love, love, love it.

Here is how far I got in the precious downtime at work.

Wisteria collar

Thass right. 6 whole rows. Aw yeah.

For the curious, I’m using the Paton’s Classic Wool in Moss Heather pictured a few entries back. According to the pattern, I’m a skein short. According to everyone else on ravelry that’s made my size, I have 3 skeins extra. We’ll see who is right! (Yes, I like to live on the edge. I also didn’t swatch, though that was an accident, and I still might. But still, I’m dangerous, yeah.) Above is the collar, by the way. Well, 6 rows of it. It’ll be more like 24 rows all told.

Sigh. More tomorrow, I hope, along with some Ikea gallivanting with You Know Who of the comments. For now: I have a bed to collapse on.