A Sheepish Little Blog.

Wool and whimsy in the frozen North.

Not Stephanie January 2, 2009

Filed under: NaKniSweMoDo — knitbytes @ 6:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

Today at work I was getting ready to leave while my coworkers gossiped in the cube next door. I had my headphones on, so I couldn’t really hear what they were on about, and anyway I try to ignore them mostly– well, one of them– when I heard the other, Teresa, say something that sounded for all the world like “Stephanie Pearl-McPhee” (of Yarn Harlot fame, of course). This was possible, because I had at one point lent her the book Knitting Rules (while this coworker does not knit, she finds it interesting enough to read the book), and when we used to share a cube she saw me read the entire archives of Stephanie’s blog. Interested, I took off my headphones and asked her what she’d said.

“I just said we’re going to have to start calling you Stephanie,” she joked. “You’re covered in wool from head to toe.”

I thought that was pretty funny, though I of course told her I’m not anything like as good a writer or knitter as the Yarn Harlot. I don’t think she knows enough about her to have meant it as  a compliment, but whatever.  Still amusing.

I’ve been knitting … the shrug, still. I finished the first sleeve and got almost done with the second. Here’s a photo to show you just how close I got to done with the 2nd sleeve:

Sleeve progress(I decided to use larger photos. Looks better to me.)

That’s about an inch and a half from the seed-stitch border. 10 rows or so. Once that’s done, I just have to pick up stitches around the body opening and knit the ribbing. Hoping to be done by Monday.

It is funny to me that I chose to finish a cotton/silk elbow-length sleeved shrug in January. I just figured it’d whip off the needles fast enough that I could start in on a sweater that’s, you know, actually warm, but now that it’s nearly done I’m realizing a factor I hadn’t thought of previously… I made it and it’s pretty and I want to show it off right NOW, not in May or June when it’s finally warm enough. Oh well, might as well finish at this point. Maybe I’ll do a proper sweater next instead of the February Lady.

That’s… really about it. Today was uneventful. I was worried about some bad things happening at work, but they didn’t happen. I made zucchini pie for dinner (well, it’s still in the oven, but the active part of cooking is done). It smells pretty awesome.

Uh…

Cats?

Lyra on one of my knitting bags

Simon on our bed(note: queen size bed. king size cat.)

 

6 Responses to “Not Stephanie”

  1. berlinbetty Says:

    I agree, the larger photos look much better. I’m going to steal your idea. I get teased at work all the time for being a knitter, people feel I’m too young to knit.
    Your shrug may not be warm enough for winter, but the color is gorgeous. I don’t blame you for wanting to wear it now! What yarn is it?

  2. sheepishlittleblog Says:

    It’s Misti Pima Cotton/Silk. Very, very soft, but hard on the hands. I don’t enjoy knitting with cotton much! I might wear it over a black long sleeved shirt or something, it might look ok.
    My coworkers, surprisingly, don’t say much about my knitting. Sometimes they make fun of the fact that it is all I ever do. But who cares, all they do is drink! I’d rather knit!

  3. Lina Says:

    Found you from the Ravelry Blog Comments Train.

    Awww love the kitties! Can’t wait to see the shrug completed.

    And I would love to be called Stephanie after the Yarn Harlot… I say go for it! 😉

  4. samsara Says:

    It’s amazing where cats decide to sleep isn’t it? One of mine is currently spread-eagled over the other computer chair and the other is asleep on top of the wardrobe! My co-workers have cottoned onto the fact that I’m a closet knitter and have started requesting things like hats and shrugs! *Sigh* as if I didn’t have enough to do already! I love the colour of your shrug 🙂

  5. autumn Says:

    If you turned that last picture clockwise 90 degrees, he would look very meerkattish. So cute! PS – I found yr blog 🙂 xoxo

  6. You Know Who Says:

    I spy Simon’s hat! I miss your kitties, and I don’t remember if I got to feel that shrug before it got put away.

    Uh… Can’t wait to see it (again?) in person!


Leave a Reply

